Skip to content Skip to navigation

Susan Athey and Joshua Gans Win Highest Honors

Apr 1 2008

Congratulations to two of my Stanford dissertation advisees from 1995, who have just won very major honors:

  • Susan Athey, for winning the 2007 John Bates Clark medal of the American Economic Association, which “is awarded biennially to that American economist under the age of forty who is adjudged to have made the most significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge.” Athey is the first woman to win this extremely prestigious award.
  • Joshua Gans, for winning the 2007 Australian Young Economist Award of the Economic Society of Australia, which is awarded biennially to “honour that Australian economist under the age of forty who is deemed to have made a significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge.”

Latest News

The American Economic Association has named Paul Milgrom a Distinguished Fellow, which is the associations highest honor for lifetime achievement. According to the award citation, Milgrom "is the world’s leading auction designer, having helped design many of the auctions for radio spectrum...
Feb 21 2020
Paul delivered the 2019 Aumann lecture, honoring Nobel Laureate Robert Aumann in Israel in July 2019. This lecture was expanded and updated for Paul's 2019 Marshall lectures, delivered over two days at Cambridge University in November, 2019. Those lectures were recorded and are available online  at...
Sep 10 2019
Auctionomics, working on behalf of the C-Band Alliance, has proposed a novel auction design called FUEL ("flexible use and efficient licensing") to sell rights to use the C-band for 5g. The design, proposed in June 2019, is a combinatorial design in which bidders can bid for between 0-9 licenses in...